About Us


​The Griffydam Community Group was founded in March 2015 following consultation with village residents about the idea of forming a group to organise social activities and to also help address any local issues. The consultation process involved a questionnaire to all households and a Village Get Together providing an opportunity for open discussion. The responses showed significant support for the proposal and the committee was formed.


Our Aim

        To encourage a strong sense of community and well-being in Griffydam by organising a programme of social, cultural and active events; helping maintain and improve the local environment and village services; and keeping residents informed via improved communication channels


The management committee roles are all voluntary positions and regular committee meetings take place every 4-8 weeks. Everyone is welcome to attend the meetings.

Honorary Officers

Chair: David Maltby

Treasurer: Elaine Ward

Secretary: Alan Robinson


Committee Members elected at the February 2020 AGM:

Alan Robinson, Carole Bramley, Cliff Darby, David Maltby, George Denoon, Brian Thompson, Elaine Ward, Simon Connell


All income generated by the Griffydam Community Group will be invested in village activities and projects. Funds raised so far have been from social events and we have also been fortunate to have received two grants of £250 from the NWLDC Health & Well Being scheme and a £500 grant from NWLDC to support the July 2018 Heritage Trail.


To see the annual accounts please click on the Treasurer's Reports.


The results of the survey conducted during the consultation process showed the need for a Community Group to be actively involved in helping to maintain/enhance the villlage environment and its services and to keep the community informed. A BBQ and walking groups rated most highly in terms of  social activities for the village. The results of the survey can be found here >>

Follow us 



  • facebook